NEWS

Stay in touch with festival news
13
Mar

Olga Lorenzo – The Light on the Water – Willy Lit Fest 2016

Olga Lorenzo is a guest author at this year’s Willy Lit Fest with her latest novel, The Light on the Water  and will be discussing it with Lucia Nardo, a long time friend of the Willy Lit Fest.

Described by her publisher Allen and Unwin as ‘a superbly written and conceived literary work about the best and the worst aspects of family life, this story asks difficult questions about society, the media, and our rush to judgement. This is a thoughtful, provocative and unflinching novel in the tradition of Helen Garner, Joan London and Charlotte Wood.’

A little girl disappears in the wilderness. Two years later her mother is arrested for her murder. A provocative and unflinching literary novel of love, guilt and grief set against the wilderness of the Australian coast.

Recently divorced and trying to make sense of her new life, Anne takes her daughter Aida on an overnight bushwalk in the moody wilderness of Wilsons Promontory. In a split second, Aida disappears and a frantic Anne scrambles for help. Some of the emergency trackers who search for Aida already doubt Anne’s story.

Nearly two years later and still tormented by remorse and grief, Anne is charged with her daughter’s murder. Witnesses have come forward, offering evidence which points to her guilt. She is stalked by the media and shunned by friends, former colleagues and neighbours.

On bail and awaiting trial, Anne works to reconstruct her last hours with Aida. She remembers the sun high in the sky, the bush noisy with insects, and her own anxiety, as oppressive as the heat haze.

Here’s a recent review by Karen Hardy – Olga Lorenzo explores belonging in The Light on the Water – Sydney Morning Herald, 12 March 2016.
 
Olga’s session date and time will be announced shortly when our 2016 program is finalised. In the meantime make sure you’ve subscribed to our enews so you’re the first to hear when tickets go on sale. You have got time to read her book before the festival begins. The Light on the Water is available at Book and Paper, 36 Douglas Parade, Williamstown.

 

About Olga

Olga Lorenzo is the author of The Rooms in My Mother’s House, which was published in 1996 and shortlisted for various literary awards. She has won the Felix Meyer Scholarship and the Percival Serle Bequest at the University of Melbourne for her writing, as well as grants from Arts Victoria and the Australia Council, and a Varuna Fellowship. Olga has taught writing at RMIT University and in a variety of other Melbourne tertiary institutions for nineteen years, and has a Masters and a PhD in creative writing from the University of Melbourne. She previously worked as a journalist and sub-editor for the Melbourne Age.

olga lorenza - willy lit fest 2016

 

 

 

 

 

Abort Lucia

Lucia Nardo loves to write. From childhood, she has kept pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. Every field she’s worked in (Social Work, Human Resources and Business Consulting) has involved the written word. She has published non-fiction, short stories and magazine articles. Her writing encompasses fiction and nonfiction and she is an awarded short story and screenplay writer. When Lucia isn’t actually writing, she’s learning about writing or teaching writing in the community and at Victoria University in Melbourne.

lucianardo - willy lit fest 2016

BACK TO TOP

DON'T MISS OUT!

To keep up to date with the latest news from Williamstown Literary Festival, subscribe to our e-news!
Email address
Secure and Spam free...